PENINSULA KASSANDRA CHALKIDIKI Tourist, Archaeological & Cultural Guide
Tuesday, August 04, 2020
The name of today's village is due to plant paliuri, thorny bushes, which were used in the past to fence the houses. Paliourgia: Deciduous, thorny shrub (arch. ramnos), produces yellow stalked flowers and fruit in the shape and color of a flower. The location comfortably controls both seas, the Aegean, to the south, and the Toroneos, to the northeast. Therefore, the original form of the toponym (name), probably of the post-classical period, was "Palaiorion", from the words: palai = old and the word dra (Attic.), dri (Ion.), which means care, supervision, surveillance. Paleorion, therefore, where the men ai underwent contraction and became simply i, as paleos = old, and the o was always pronounced as u, as: kodon = bell, rothon = nostrils. Thus, smoothly, we arrive, acoustically, at the current name "Paliouri(on)". We have similar terms: Pylaorion (Pylaoros, Pylaoria), Aktaiorion (Aktaioros, Aktaioria).
It was established as a community in 1918 by royal decree. Paliouri is famous for the production of honey and olive oil, as is the entire region. The visitor can admire the unique nature and wander the overgrown paths of the pine forest or the narrow alleys of the village with their unique traditional color. In the area of today's village, it is believed that there was an ancient city called Theramvos, mentioned by Herodotus and located between the sites of Chrousso and Arapi (a hill with a panoramic view). The same author notes that the city was forcibly taken by Xerxes and perhaps that is why it is not mentioned in later writers. Archaeological finds have been found on the peninsula and in the bay of Agios Nikolaos, which attest to the existence of the city.
The inhabitants of Paliouri participated in the revolution of 1821. A great fighter of the revolution of 1821 was the priest Nikolaos Triantafillou.
The total area of the village is 30,080 acres. Of these, 16,000 are arable land and 14,080 forests (13,380 public and 700 community). The settlement occupies approximately 1,000 acres. There are 110,000 olive trees.
In addition to the main settlement, there were other smaller ones from time to time, such as the metochi of Osios Grigoriou, Chrouso, Agios Nikolaos, Glarokavos, Xyna.
In June 1918, by Royal Decree, the "Chrouso" settlement was also handed over to Paliouri. For the name "Chrousos" there is a popular tradition which says that it was named after King Chrousos who lived in the area in the past. In the area there is the Xenia hotel built in 1962 and the campsite with the same name built in 1974. In Chrousso the visitor can enjoy the clear blue waters and the golden sandy beach, which together with the pine trees that touch the sea form a literally breathtaking scenery.
South-east of the village, at the end of the Toroneos gulf and 6 km towards the Kanistro cape, is the settlement of Xyna and two kilometers later, one comes across the settlement of Agios Nikolaos Kanistrou with its two picturesque coves and the natural bay where the church of Agios Nikolaos is located.
The cape of Kassandra is called Kanistro and it is 8 km from Paliouri. There was a temple of Apollo Kanistrou, it was of the Ionic style and this is evidenced by a capital built into the small church of Agios Nikolaos. The area of Kanistro was granted by the state in 1933. In the past there was the metochi of the Ander-Iviron monastery in the area between Paliouri, Agia Paraskevi and Pefkochori (Ander was the name of the mountain, the place where the metochi was built).
The main occupations of the residents are beekeeping, tourist businesses (especially in the surrounding settlements) and olive growing. Also, Paliouri is one of the best and most famous fishing spots in Halkidiki. One of the most ideal spots for fishing, among others, is the port of Agios Nikolaos.
On the Feast of the Virgin Mary (August 15), a series of events take place that include traditional music and dance groups, as well as the traditional starogalos.
An important event is also the celebration of the revival of the custom of Saints Theodores on February 28 at the site.
Paliouri-Akrotiri (Natura 2000) Community Conservation Site
Tuesday, August 04, 2020
The area of Akrotiri in Paliouri, Halkidiki is a "Community Protection Site" of the NATURA 2000 network with code GR1270008. It is an area of 2,872 acres in the municipal district of Paliouri in the municipality of Kassandra, Halkidiki. Specifically, it is located in the SE part of the Kassandra peninsula. The bottom in this zone has a particular slope, due to the strong waves that exist on the cape. The site is important because of the meadows of the Posidonia species that exist along the coastline at a depth of 1.5-3 m. This phanerogamous plant species is endemic to the Mediterranean and endangered in the areas that may have been polluted. Dangers for the cape are extensive fishing and the passage of various boats, especially during the summer months.
and generally the reproduction of the texts of the website, in any medium or way, in part or in summary, without the written permission of the author. The photos are the intellectual property of Sunspot Web Design, based on law 2121/1993 and the Berne International Convention (ratified by law 100/1975). It is noted that intellectual property is acquired without any wording and without the need for a clause prohibiting its insults. All published photographs are the intellectual property of the photographers and are governed by the laws of the Greek State on copyright. You may not reproduce the site, in whole or in part, without the written permission of the administrators. If you wish to use one or more of the photos for presentation in print or electronic media, you must mention on the same page and in a clear place the website: www.kassandra-halkidiki.gr as the source of the images (link).